in Internet Privacy Laws All Around The World 2019

Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) 1978

The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) was enacted in 1978 which was introduced by Senator Ted Kennedy in 1977 and signed into law by President Carter on 25 October 1978.

This law allows the electronic and physical surveillance of foreign powers and the ones who are linked to them for the purpose of collecting “Foreign Intelligence Information.” However, when the law was enforced it was purposed to regulate the collection of foreign intelligence information within the United States.

The access to electronic and physical surveillance was given in 2001.

The FISA regulation established the existence of Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISC) which is authorized to monitor requests for surveillance warrants by the federal law enforcement and intelligence agencies.

The FISA law has been amended many times after the incident of 9/11.

The main provisions of FISA are;

You can get the extensive and detailed FISA information, here.

FISA Amendments

  • Terrorist Surveillance Act of 2006
  • USA Patriot Act
  • Protect America Act of 2007
  • Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 Amendment Act of 2008
  • USA Freedom Act 2015
  • FISA Amendments Reauthorization Act of 2017

Write a Comment